Time for some Twitter housekeeping
When you first set up your Twitter account you get pushed through all the settings but do you ever revisit them? It’s a good idea to do some housekeeping and check the content that you’ve put into your account settings. From time to time Twitter will change things around to it’s also a great chance to catch up on that too.
This is quite a long page now so I’ve split it over two images.
- Username – in our case this is florizelmedia but did you know that you can change this? Twitter is one of the few social networks that makes it easy to update your username so if you’ve changed your business name or you feel that your current username isn’t quite right you can switch it to a new one. You won’t lose any followers, any of the people you are following or any of your tweets which makes it a lot easier than setting up a new account.
- Email – that’s how Twitter will communicate with you so make sure it’s up to date and active. If you tick the box beneath then other users who know your email address can search for your that way. Either way your email isn’t shown publicly.
- Language – this changes the language of the Twitter interface (not the tweets!) so be careful about changing it! On the other hand it could be a good way to learn some phrases in a new language …
- Timezone – set to your current location.
- Tweet location – if you have checked this box then your location will be sent to Twitter each time you Tweet and it will be public. Be careful with this option especially if you Tweet from your home. You might want to switch it on if you were tweeting from an event and wanted people to be able to find you easily but if you do that remember to switch it off afterwards. If you’ve had it on and want to remove all location information you can click the Delete all location information button and it should all be gone within about 30 minutes.
- Tweet media – if you’re posting media (images or videos) that could be considered sensitive (maybe nsfw – not safe for work) then you can let Twitter mark them. If you check the first option then you’ll be able to see media that the original poster considered sensitive. Do be aware that sensitive content may be posted and not marked as such so if you’re in an environment where you need to be careful then watch what you show.
- Tweet privacy – if you select this option then your future tweets won’t be made public neither will anyone be able to follow you without your permission. If you’re using Twitter as a business tool then this option wouldn’t make much sense although I have seen protected business Twitter accounts. If you decide that you want to make an account private then remember that all the people who are already following you will remain with you – they don’t need to ask to follow your account.
- Personalisation – Twitter can tailor your experience based on your recent website visits. I have most options for getting tracked across the web switched off which is why this isn’t available to my account.
- Password reset – this option makes it harder for hackers to grab your account and reset the password.
- Country – Twitter will usually get this one right automatically but if it has got it wrong you can select the right country here. This information is saved as a cookie in your browser.
- Your Twitter archive – want a copy of all your tweets – request it here!
Next time we’ll go through the profile settings and see what you should be putting there!